Rugby World Cup winners: List of teams to win men's rugby union tournament in history

England rugby fans will never forget the day Jonny Wilkinson's last-gasp drop goal secured a historic World Cup win in 2003.

It was the first time and remains the only time a nation from the northern hemisphere has won rugby union's famous William Webb Ellis Cup, 

so named after the man credited as the creator of rugby football.

Australia, New Zealand and South Africa have otherwise shared a stranglehold on the Rugby World Cup in the men's game, 

with European teams going all-out to change that status quo at the upcoming 2023 tournament in France.

In this STORY The Sporting News details some of the Rugby World Cup's history, listing its finals and winners since inception in 1987.

List all Rugby World Cup final winners This table shows all the finals since the World Cup began in 1987 with the southern hemisphere's domination of the tournament apparent.

Year Final result (winner in bold) 1987 New Zealand 29-9 France 1991 Australia 12-6 England 1995 South Africa 15-12 New Zealand (aet) 1999 Australia 35-12 France

2003 England 20-17 Australia (aet) 2007 South Africa 15-6 England 2011 New Zealand 8-7 France 2015 New Zealand 34-17 Australia 2019 South Africa 32-12 England


Robert De Niro’s Dating History: From Grace Hightower to Tiffany Chen